This article exists as part of the online archive for HuffPost Canada, which closed in 2021.

Roberto Luongo Makes Team Canada Hockey Roster 2014

Roberto Luongo will backstop Canada at the 2014 Olympics in Sochi after winning a gold medal in Vancouver in 2010, general manager Steve Yzerman announced at a news conference in Toronto on Tuesday morning.

Luongo's selection wasn't a sure thing as the Canucks netminder was reported to have hurt his ankle. The apparent injury happened just one game after missing action from a groin injury, though an MRI later determined that it was not serious, The Vancouver Sun reported.

Luongo won't be alone among Canucks representing his country. Smithers-born defenseman Dan Hamhuis was also selected for the team.

Other B.C.-born players selected for the squad include goalie Carey Price from Anahim Lake; defencemen Duncan Keith from Penticton and Shea Weber from Sicamous; and forward Jamie Benn from Victoria.

Meanwhile, six other Canucks have been selected to represent their respective countries.

Forwards Daniel and Henrik Sedin and defenceman Alex Edler will hit the ice for Sweden; centreman Ryan Kesler will lace up for Team USA; defenceman Yannick Weber will compete for Switzerland; and prospect forward Ronalds Kenins will play for Latvia.

The full Team Canada roster is below:



Carey Price, Roberto Luongo and Mike Smith


Jay Bouwmeester, Drew Doughty, Dan Hamhuis, Duncan Keith, Alex Pietrangelo, P.K. Subban, Marc-Edouard Vlasic and Shea Weber


Jamie Benn, Patrice Bergeron, Jeff Carter, Sidney Crosby, Matt Duchene, Ryan Getzlaf, Chris Kunitz, Patrick Marleau, Rick Nash, Corey Perry, Patrick Sharp, Steven Stamkos, John Tavares and Jonathan Toews.

Like this article? Follow our Facebook page

Or follow us on Twitter

Follow @HuffPostBC

Also on HuffPost

Suggest a correction
This article exists as part of the online archive for HuffPost Canada. Certain site features have been disabled. If you have questions or concerns, please check our FAQ or contact