Janet Morgan Riggs

President, Gettysburg College

Janet Morgan Riggs was appointed the 14th president of Gettysburg College in 2009. She graduated from Gettysburg College with a B.A. in psychology and mathematics and received her M.A. and Ph.D. in social psychology from Princeton University. Riggs returned to Gettysburg College in 1981 as a faculty member in the Psychology Department, where she served as department chairperson. She has worked in a variety of administrative roles, including executive assistant to the president, interim provost, provost, and interim president, prior to her appointment as president. Riggs is the recipient of the Gettysburg College Student Senate Faculty Appreciation Award, the Thompson Award for Distinguished Teaching, and the Woman of Distinction Award presented by the women students of Gettysburg College. She has taught courses in experimental methods, social psychology, and general psychology. Riggs is currently a member of the following boards: Gettysburg Foundation, Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize, PA Campus Compact, and the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of PA. She also serves on the Executive Committee of the PA Consortium of the Liberal Arts and the Annapolis Group.