Mark W. Kline, M.D.

Physician-in-Chief, Texas Children's Hospital

Mark W. Kline, M.D. has been treating children with HIV/AIDS since the epidemic first surfaced among these youngest of patients in the late 1980s. He has been instrumental in investigations of clinical therapies that have radically changed the outlook for children with HIV/AIDS from one of little hope to successful treatments that are allowing children to enter adulthood with a quality of life never imagined only 15 years ago.

Dr. Kline is the J.S. Abercrombie Professor and Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine (BCM) and Physician-in-Chief of Texas Children’s Hospital. Additionally, as President of the BCM International Pediatric AIDS Initiative (BIPAI) at Texas Children’s Hospital, Dr. Kline oversees an ambitious program that encompasses HIV/AIDS care and treatment and health professional education and training programs in 20 African countries, Mexico, Romania, Ukraine and China. BIPAI provides HIV/AIDS treatment to more children than any other organization worldwide. The Initiative has built a network of children’s HIV/AIDS centers across Africa that is staffed by American physicians recruited to the Pediatric AIDS Corps. The Pediatrics AIDS Corps is sending 250 doctors to Africa over five years to treat children with AIDS and train local medical professionals about this disease.

Dr. Kline is Chair of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society International Affairs Committee and past-Chair of the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Pediatric AIDS. He is certified in both pediatrics and infectious diseases by the American Board of Pediatrics, and has authored more than 250 scientific articles and textbook chapters, as well as presented over 300 national and international lectures on subjects related to infectious diseases of children and international child health.

Dr. Kline received a B.A. degree (summa cum laude) in biology from Trinity University in 1979. He received his M.D. degree with Honors from Baylor College of Medicine in 1981, completed a residency in pediatrics at BCM and Texas Children’s Hospital in 1985, having served as Chief Resident in Pediatrics, and was a Postdoctoral Fellow in Pediatric Infectious Diseases at BCM and Texas Children’s. His many honors and awards include the Dag Hammarksjold Award from the International Association of Physicians in AIDS Care (1998), the Association of American Medical Colleges Humanism in Medicine Award (2002), the Annual Award in HIV/AIDS of the World Foundation for AIDS Research and Prevention (2006), the Distinguished Faculty Award of Baylor College of Medicine (2007), the Medical Award of Excellence from Ronald McDonald House Charities (2007), the Distinguished Alumnus Award of Trinity University (2008), Jefferson Award for Public Service (2009), Millie and Richard Brock Award of the New York Academy of Medicine (2009), Jacqueline Kenney Onassis Award for Public Service, Jefferson Awards Program (2010), E.H. Christopherson Lectureship Award, American Academy of Pediatrics (2010), and the HIVMA Clinical Education Award, Infectious Diseases Society of American (2010). He is listed in Who’s Who in America.