Reporter Who Infuriated Donald Trump In 2016 Wins Pulitzer Prize

Trump called The Washington Post's David Fahrenthold a "nasty guy."

Washington Post reporter David Fahrenthold, whom President Donald Trump called a “/"}}" data-beacon-parsed="true">nasty guy” for doggedly investigating his dubious charity foundation claims, won the Pulitzer Prize on Monday for national reporting.

Fahrenthold not only pored over documents and called hundreds of organizations while reporting on the president’s charitable foundation during the 2016 campaign, but he brought readers real-time social media updates and turned to them for additional tips. In October, Fahrenthold also broke the news that Trump boasted about groping women in an unearthed “Access Hollywood” outtake. 

It’s the third year in a row that The Post has won the national reporting category, following awards for its coverage of police shootings and Secret Service security lapses.

The New York Times took home the most awards, winning prizes for its reporting on Russian President Vladimir Putin’s efforts to extend power abroad (international) and C.J. Chivers’ profile of a Marine veteran with post-traumatic stress disorder (feature writing). Daniel Berehulak, a freelance photographer, won the breaking news photography prize for his coverage in the Times of the Philippines government’s brutal anti-drug crackdown. 

The New York Daily News and nonprofit investigative journalism organization ProPublica won the public service award for reporting on eviction rules in New York City that disproportionately affected minority residents. The Pulitzer Board specifically highlighted the work of reporter Sarah Ryley, who recently left the Daily News for The Trace. 

The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and The Miami Herald won the explanatory award for reporting on the “Panama Papers,” a collaborative reporting effort that included over 100 media outlets around the world. More than 300 journalists investigated a massive leak of documents from a Panama-based law firm and revealed how major corporations and global leaders us this tax haven to hide their money.

Full winners below. 


Public Service: New York Daily News and ProPublica

Breaking News Reporting: Staff of the East Bay Times

Investigative Reporting: Eric Eyre of the Charleston Gazette-Mail

Explanatory Reporting: International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and the Miami Herald

Local Reporting: The Salt Lake Tribune Staff

National Reporting: David Fahrenthold of The Washington Post

International Reporting: Staff of The New York Times

Feature Writing: C.J. Chivers of The New York Times

Commentary: Peggy Noonan of The Wall Street Journal

Criticism: Hilton Als of The New Yorker

Editorial Writing: Art Cullen of The Storm Lake Times, Storm Lake, Iowa

Editorial Cartooning: Jim Morin of Miami Herald

Breaking News Photography: Daniel Berehulak, freelance photographer, for work in The New York Times

Feature Photography: E. Jason Wambsgans of Chicago Tribune


Fiction: The Underground Railroad, by Colson Whitehead

Drama: Sweat, by Lynn Nottage

History: Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy, by Heather Ann Thompson

Biography: The Return: Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between, by Hisham Matar

Poetry: Olio, by Tyehimba Jess (Wave Books)

General Nonfiction: Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City, by Matthew Desmond (Crown)

Music: Angel’s Bone, by Du Yun

This article has been updated with more details about the winners.