A $10,000 Scholarship for College-Bound High School Girls -- The Harriet Fitzgerald Scholarship

In a recent blog post, How to Afford a Quality College Education for Your Daughter, I wrote about the affordability of attending a women's college. Historically women's colleges have provided generous financial aid packages that allow college-bound high school girls to receive an affordable quality college education.

Today, I'll share with you a merit-based scholarship that was recently created by alumnae from the former Randolph-Macon Woman's College. This $10,000 scholarship is for high school seniors who want to attend a women's college in the United States and/or Canada; it is awarded to a highly motivated, academically focused individual, interested in making a contribution to society.

The creation of this big-hearted scholarship is not surprising; alumnae of women's colleges are passionate about and appreciative of the education they received from their Alma Maters. It's a testament that they believe women's colleges are relevant and necessary; colleges for women ensure future women leaders, regardless of the field.

The Randolph-Macon alumnae behind this first-of-its-kind scholarship include Nahid Hamzei, '80; Kristin Callis Hodges, '89; Elizabeth Gordon McCrodden, '66; Becca Peterson, '80; Helen Regan, '66; Mary B. White, '75; Deborah Wooten, '74; and Kathleen Nowack Worm, '82. Creating a non-profit organization, The Sunflower Initiative, Inc. (TSI), these women established the Harriet Fitzgerald Scholarship to honor the 1926 alumna.

Harriet Fitzgerald graduated from Randolph-Macon Woman's College with a degree in English. While in college Harriet was very involved in various activities as well as leadership roles, serving as president of the student body. After college she went on to become a nationally recognized artist and art teacher. In 1948, she established the Abingdon Square Painters collective in New York City. Miss Fitzgerald remained a loyal alumna of the college. People who knew her often referred to as a "Renaissance woman" and "magnificent human being."

Attending Wesleyan College in Macon, Georgia, the first recipient of The Sunflower Initiative's Harriet Fitzgerald Scholarship was Aastha Sharma. Watch the video below as Aastha describes what the scholarship means to her.

The current scholarship recipient is Chelsea Osademe and she is attending Spelman College located in Atlanta, GA.

The Sunflower Initiative is accepting application for the third Harriet Fitzgerald Scholarship which will be awarded for the 2014-2015 academic year (the application deadline is March 1, 2014).

If you would like to learn more about The Harriet Fitzgerald Scholarship or The Sunflower Initiative, visit their Web site.