Canadian Olympic Hockey Team: 2010 Roster Released

The Canadian Olympic Hockey Team 2010 roster was released today, and analysts have begun digesting the list for the host country of the 2010 Olympics (to be held in Vancouver).

The squad hopes to improve on a disappointing seventh place finish at the 2006 Torino Olympic Games. It will have some returners in addition to new faces.

Have a look at the Team Canada 2010 roster:

FORWARDS: Patrice Bergeron, Sidney Crosby, Ryan Getzlaf, Dany Heatley, Jarome Iginla, Patrick Marleau, Brenden Morrow, Rich Nash, Corey Perry, Mike Richards, Eric Staal, Joe Thornton, Jonathan Toews.

DEFENSEMEN: Dan Boyle, Drew Doughty, Duncan Keith, Scott Niedermayer, Chris Pronger, Brent Seabrook, Shea Weber.

GOALTENDERS: Martin Brodeur, Marc-Andre Fleury, Roberto Luongo.

Notable players who were left off the roster include Jeff Carter, Shane Doan, Vincent Lecavalier, Martin St. Louis, Mike Fisher, Cam Ward, Mike Green, Dion Phaneuf, and Jay Bouwmeester.

Former NHL star Steve Yzerman is the team's GM and Detroit Red Wings head coach Mike Babcock will assume the same role for Team Canada.

The United States will release the Team USA 2010 roster on Jan. 1.