Celebrities Tweet About the Saturday Night Live 40th Anniversary Special

On October 11, 1975 NBC's Saturday Night with host George Carlin debuted on NBC. At the time, ABC had a program called Saturday Night Live with Howard Cosell. So it wasn't until 1977, after Cosell's show's was cancelled, that SNL changed its name to Saturday Night Live.

Four decades later, SNL celebrated with a blow-out 40th anniversary special with a crazy pants line-up of stars including Sir Paul McCartney, Robert De Niro, Jerry Seinfeld, Molly Shannon, Tina Fey, Eddie Murphy, Alec Baldwin, Paul Simon, Kanye West, Billy Crystal, Bradley Cooper, Betty White, Adam Sandler, Melissa McCarthy, Will Ferrell, Jane Curtain, Steve Martin, Bill Murray, Maya Rudolph, Bill Hader, Jim Carrey, Louis C.K., Kristen Wiig, Chris Rock, Jon Lovitz, Edward Norton, Keith Richards, Taylor Swift, Tom Hanks, Norm MacDonald, Seth Myers, Martin Short, Miley Cyrus, Bill Murray, Laraine Newman, Emma Stone, David Spade, Betty White, John Goodman, Amy Poehler, Kanye West, Zach Galifianakis, Kerry Washington, Mike Myers, Garrett Morris, Fred Armisen, Larry David, James Franco and more! As Robert De Niro said, "Saturday Night Live broke all the rules of comedy and 40 years later, they're still at it."

Many took to Twitter to document the night. Read a variety of tweets here at this Parade.com story.