Planning a wedding is a big undertaking, to be sure. But sorting out the legal paperwork before you say "I Do" can be even more challenging. To help get you organized before your Big Day, The Huffington Post has put together a comprehensive, state-by-state guide to getting married. Read on for everything you need to know about getting hitched in Oklahoma. --Sara Faith Alterman
Residency Requirement And Waiting Period
Marriage applicants do not have to be Oklahoma residents to get married in Oklahoma. There is no waiting period, unless either applicant is younger than 18. In that case, a 72-hour waiting period applies, unless applicants present a waiver signed by a parent, legal guardian or judge.
The legal age to get married in Oklahoma is 18 (the age of majority). Minors ages 16 or 17 may apply for a marriage license with the consent of their parents or legal guardians. People under the age of 16 may not marry unless the court grants permission in the case of a settlement of a "
," the unmarried female is pregnant or has given birth to a child.
The cost of a marriage license in Oklahoma is $50. However, the
if the applicants present a certificate stating that they have completed a premarital counseling program conducted by a state-certified health official or representative of a religious organization.
, so applicants for a marriage license must present a state- or federal-issued ID, such as a driver's license, a military ID card, a certified copy of a birth certificate or a passport. Blood tests and physical examinations are not required.
Witnesses And Officiants
The person performing the marriage ceremony must be an ordained or licensed officiant, or a judge or retired judge of any Oklahoma state court. Two adult witnesses are required. The officiant must complete a certificate of marriage that includes their name, their court or religious organization, the town or city and county in which the court or religious organization is located and their signature. This certificate must be signed by the witnesses and the bridge and groom and returned to the judge or court clerk who issued the marriage license.
Same-sex marriage is not permitted in Oklahoma.
specifically defines marriage as consisting “only of the union of one man and one woman." In addition,
states: "A marriage between persons of the same gender performed in another state shall not be recognized as valid and binding in this state as of the date of the marriage."
Did You Know?
In Oklahoma, marriages between full or half brothers and sisters, first cousins, stepparents and their stepchildren, uncles and their nieces, or aunts and their nephews are considered incestuous and therefore illegal. However, if first cousins are married in a state where it's legal to do so, then the marriage will be recognized as valid and binding in Oklahoma. It is also interesting to note that if the bride or groom has been previously married, he or she must wait at least six months from the date of the final divorce decree before remarrying, unless he or she is remarrying the same person. According to the Oklahoma Statute 43-101,
are grounds for divorce.
View the full set of laws and regulations regarding marriage in Oklahoma.
A name change following marriage in Oklahoma can be a hassle. It's a good idea to start by getting certified copies of your marriage certificate, filing a name change petition, then changing your name on your driver's license and vehicle registration. Name changes must also be submitted to your employer, as well as the Social Security Administration and the U.S. passport agency. Also consider changing your name on voter registration forms, bank accounts, credit cards, frequent-flier accounts and utilities providers.