GLAAD Media Awards Red Carpet And Awards

The 28th annual GLAAD Media Awards occurred over the weekend and there was no shortage of celebrity star power on the red carpet. For the uninitiated, “the GLAAD Media Awards recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate, and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer community and the issues that affect their lives.” At the ceremony, held at the Beverly Hilton, shows like Blackish, Modern Family, and Transparent were among the many that were nominated for the work in outstanding visibility among marginalized groups.

Talent wore blue “&” pins for GLAAD’s Together campaign – representing GLAAD’s work on intersectional issues including immigration, racial justice, women’s rights, and LGBTQ acceptance. Rebecca Sugar passionately expressed, “I am excited that audiences are demanding compelling stories.” Those stories are not in short supply.

Our Lady J, writer of the Amazon Original series Transparent, stated that, “The only way to move past hatred is to move forward through the heart.” Heading into its fourth season, Transparent was the recipient of the GLAAD Outstanding Comedy Series award this weekend and promises to deliver powerful stories and performances.

Joining the cause, Moonlight continued making waves in Hollywood. Winning the award for Outstanding Film — Wide Release, Moonlight racked up another great honor. On visibility, Tarell Alvin McCraney, writer of Moonlight, stated “There are nuances to conversations that we need to have...there are young people who are having that conversation and want to create and see works that represent them in that way.”

Following is a complete list of GLAAD Media Award recipients announced Saturday in Los Angeles. Additional awards will be presented in New York at the New York Hilton Midtown on May 6.

  • Vanguard Award: Patricia Arquette  (presented by Luke Perry and Jeffrey Tambor)
  • Stephen F. Kolzak Award: Troye Sivan (presented by Carly Rae Jepsen and Justin Tranter)
  • Outstanding Film – Wide Release: Moonlight (A24) [accepted by: Tarell Alvin McCraney and Trevante Rhodes
  • Outstanding Drama Series: Shadowhunters (Freeform) [accepted by: Matthew Daddario and Harry Shum Jr.]
  • Outstanding Comedy Series: Transparent (Amazon) [accepted by: creator Jill Soloway with stars Alexandra Billings, Jeffrey Tambor, Judith Light, Amy Landecker, Jay Duplass, and Trace Lysette, and producers Zackary Drucker and Rhys Ernst]
  • Outstanding Film Limited Release: Other People (Vertical Entertainment
  • Outstanding TV Movie or Limited Series: Eyewitness (USA Network)
  • Outstanding Individual Episode: “San Junipero” Black Mirror (Netflix)
  • Outstanding Daily Drama: The Bold and The Beautiful (CBS)
  • Outstanding Comic Book: The Woods, written by James Tynion IV (BOOM! Studios)

The 2017 GLAAD Media Awards will air on Logo on April 6 at 10 PM ET/PT, after the world broadcast premiere of Strike A Pose. Additional awards will be presented at the GLAAD Media Awards event at the New York Hilton Midtown in New York on Saturday, May 6.