GLSEN Announces Honorees For 2013 Respect Awards

The Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN) announced this week the list of honorees for the organization's 2013 Respect Awards -- Los Angeles, set to take place on Oct. 18. GLSEN holds the award ceremony biannually, with the New York counterpart having occurred on May 20, 2013.

GLESN is a nationally-recognized education organization that strives to create and sustain safer school environments for all students. The organization holds the Respect Awards in order to highlight the work of individuals, corporations, students and educators who have made a significant impact in the areas of diversity, inclusion, and the safe schools movement, while also serving as positive role models.

The 2013 Respect Awards -- Los Angeles will host Robbie Rogers and Kerry Washington as honorary co-chairs, and recognize a wide-range of individuals for their efforts and achievements within the spectrum of the LGBT movement.

“GLSEN is the leading national education organization working to end bullying and create safe schools for all, regardless of sexual orientation, gender expression or gender identity, and we are proud to honor supporters who are committed to a world where young people learn to value and respect all people,” said Dr. Eliza Byard, GLSEN’s Executive Director in a press release. “This year, we are pleased to recognize Lionsgate, Linda Bloodworth-Thomason, Jim Parsons and Todd Spiewak, and our 2013 Student Advocate of the Year, all of whom share our passion and commitment of making sure that every student is able to succeed in school and reach their full potential.”

According to a press release, Lionsgate will receive the Chairman's Award, Linda Bloodworth-Thomason will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Inspiration Award will be given to Jim Parsons and Todd Spiewak. The Student Advocate of the Year has yet to be announced.

For more information about the GLSEN Respect Awards, visit the organization's website. Also, check out the incredible acceptance speech by Matt Bomer and Simon Halls after receiving the Inspiration Award at last year's ceremony below.