Goal-line technology is making its World Cup debut in Brazil but that doesn't necessarily mean an end to goal-line controversy.
The ESPN announcers calling the action when France doubled its lead against Honduras with a score that called the new system into action didn't seem entirely convinced. In the 48th minute of the Group E matchup in Porto Alegre on Sunday, France forward Karim Benzema rifled a left-footed volley off the post that rebounded back across the goalmouth and off Honduras goalkeeper Noel Valladares. The keeper appeared to accidentally knock the ball across the goal line, barely. There was the briefest delay before officials signaled that a goal had been scored on the play but Benzema and his France teammates were soon celebrating a 2-0 lead.
"You have to give the technology the benefit of the doubt," ESPN analyst and former U.S. men's national team goalkeeper Kasey Keller said moments after the goal during the broadcast. "I'm not so sure on the replays."
According to FIFA.com's live blog of the match, the referee's decision on the goal was confirmed by goal-line technology.
After the goal-line technology confirmed the own goal and play had resumed, the announcing crew still sounded less than convinced.
"Do you believe your eyes?" ESPN commentator Daniel Mann later asked Keller. "The goal-line technology is telling us not to."