James Beard Awards 2012 Liveblog: Winners, Updates & More

UPDATE: Here are all the winners:

Best New Restaurant
Next, Chicago

Outstanding Chef
Daniel Humm of Eleven Madison Park in New York

Outstanding Pastry Chef
Mindy Segal of Mindy's Hot Chocolate in Chicago

Outstanding Restaurant
Boulevard in San Francisco

Outstanding Restaurateur
Tom Douglas of Tom Douglas Restaurants in Seattle

Outstanding Service
La Grenouille in New York

Outstanding Wine & Spirits Professional
Paul Grieco of Terroir in New York

Outstanding Wine Program
No. 9 Park in Boston

Outstanding Bar Program
PDT in New York

Rising Star Chef Of The Year
Christina Tosi of Momofuku Milk Bar in New York



Great Lakes
Bruce Sherman of North Pond in Chicago

Maricel Presilla of Cucharamama in Hoboken, N.J.

Tory Miller of L'Etoile in Madison, Wisc.

New York City
Michael Anthony of Gramercy Tavern in New York

Tim Cushman of O Ya in Boston

Matt Dillon of Sitka & Spruce in Seattle

Matt Molina of Osteria Mozza in Los Angeles

Chris Hastings of Hot and Hot Fish Club in Birmingham, Ala.

Southeast (tie)
Hugh Acheson of Five and Ten in Athens, Ga. & Linton Hopkins of Restaurant Eugene in Atlanta

Paul Qui of Uchiko in Austin, Texas


James Beard Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award
Wolfgang Puck

James Beard Foundation Humanitarian of the Year
Charlie Trotter


James Beard Foundation Who's Who of Food & Beverage in America Inductees
- Grant Achatz, chef and author, Chicago
- Mark Bittman, journalist and author, New York
- Dana Cowin, editor-in-chief at Food and Wine magazine, New York
- Emily Luchetti, pastry chef and author, San Francisco
- Marvin Shanken, publisher, New York


James Beard Foundation America's Classics
- The Fry Bread House in Phoenix
Owner: Cecelia Miller
- Nora's Fish Creek Inn in Wilson, Wyo.
Owners: Nora Tygum, Trace Tygum and Kathryn Tygum Taylor
- St. Elmo Steak House in Indianapolis
Owners: Stephen Huse and Craig Huse
- Jones Bar-B-Q Diner in Marianna, Ark.
Owners: James and Betty Jones
- Shady Glen in Manchester, Conn.
Owners: William and Annette Hoch


The annual James Beard Awards, happening Monday night at Avery Fisher Hall at Lincoln Center in New York, are one of the biggest events in the food world. Little else brings together as many chefs from across the country. Alton Brown, the co-host of this year's awards, actually lit the Empire State Building in honor of the festivities.

Monday night's James Beard Awards will honor established and rising chefs from across the country, outstanding wine programs, restaurateurs, individual restaurants and more (see the full list of 2012 nominees). On Friday night, the nominees for the broadcast, book and journalism awards gathered for a separate awards ceremony. Check out the winners for those honors here.

Like any major award show, the James Beard Awards are not without its detractors (see here and here), but the medal still remains one of the few recognized -- and coveted -- accolades granted to chefs and other food professionals across America.

HuffPost Food is on hand at the awards to fill you in on the evening's winners, attendees and festivities. If you want to follow along, check out the liveblog below, watch the awards live if you'd like, and be sure to follow the hashtag #jbfa on Twitter (and follow us @huffpostfood).

Check out some photos (courtesy of Tina Wong) of the night:

James Beard Awards 2012

Check out our liveblog below.

05/07/2012 9:29 PM EDT

Final Award Of The Night! Outstanding Chef

Chef Jose Andres won the award for Outstanding Chef last year. This year, he announced the new winner: Daniel Humm of four-starred Eleven Madison Park!

"I wish there was an award for outstanding wife," said Humm.

05/07/2012 9:25 PM EDT

Outstanding Restaurant

Boulevard in San Francisco won the much-coveted Outstanding Restaurant award. Chef Nancy Oakes, perhaps sensing the crowd was getting restless, had one of the shortest acceptance speech of the night!

05/07/2012 9:21 PM EDT

Outstanding Restaurateur

"Any award you win from the Beard Foundation is bound to be memorable," said Thomas Keller, before announcing the winner.

"The most exciting thing about the award is the party after," responded Daniel Boulud.

We can hope that Tom Douglas will be partying afterwards, even if he wasn't present at the awards. He is the first restaurateur from Seattle to win this award.

Worth noting: it is in fact spelled "restaurateur" not "restauranteur."

05/07/2012 9:15 PM EDT

Outstanding Service

New York's La Grenouille has been around for 50 years -- since 1962 -- and is now the winner of the Outstanding Service award.

05/07/2012 9:12 PM EDT

Best New Restaurant

Chef Grant Achatz and partner Nick Kokonas' Next Restaurant in Chicago, helmed by executive chef Dave Beran, has won for the Best New Restaurant. Next, which only debuted about a year ago, changes concepts every three months. So far, the restaurant has gone through Paris 1906, Thailand, Childhood and is currently serving an homage to El Bulli.

05/07/2012 9:08 PM EDT

Outstanding Pastry Chef

After a rather long interlude from Wolfgang Puck, the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, Mindy Segal of Mindy's Hot Chocolate in Chicago won the award for Outstanding Pastry Chef. She couldn't be at the awards as she is currently renovating her restaurant.

05/07/2012 9:04 PM EDT

"Run, Push And Shove"

Alton Brown's wise words for how to snag some food for the Gala post-awards:

"Run, push and shove"

05/07/2012 8:46 PM EDT

Who's Who of Food & Beverage Of America

Chef Rick Bayless announced the new inductees of "Who's Who of Food & Beverage Of America."

If you haven't heard of these people already, now you can catch up! But hopefully you've heard of at least a few of them...

The inductees are:

Grant Achatz, of Alinea and Next

Mark Bittman, New York Times columnist and cookbook author

Dana Cowin, editor-in-chief of Food & Wine

Emily Luchetti, pastry chef and pastry Dean of the International Culinary Center

Marvin Shanken, founder of M. Shaken Communications

05/07/2012 8:28 PM EDT

New York Dominates In Outstanding Restaurant Design, Outstanding Restaurant Graphics

Design firm Bentel & Bentel Architects won the award for Outstanding Restaurant Design for Le Bernardin's redesign in New York.

For Outstanding Restaurant Graphics, Pandiscio Co won for The The Americano at Hôtel Americano, also located in New York.

05/07/2012 8:04 PM EDT

Deep Thoughts

@ amateurgourmet :

I wonder if there are more people Tweeting from the James Beard awards than there are people reading the Tweets.