'Jeopardy!,' 'Wheel Of Fortune' Renewed: New Deal Lasts Through 2016

Looks like Alex Trebek has a little bit more time to ponder retirement: "Jeopardy!" and "Wheel Of Fortune" have both been renewed through 2016.

"Jeopardy!" host Alex Trebek and "Wheel Of Fortune" hosts Pat Sajak and Vanna White recently signed new contracts, keeping them with the shows. The new deal will take "Wheel Of Fortune" to Season 33 and "Jeopardy!" through Season 32.

“The ABC Owned Stations have been a fantastic broadcast partner for 'Wheel Of Fortune' and 'Jeopardy!' for the last few decades, and we look forward to many more years of this prosperous relationship,” Joe DiSalvo, president of sales for CBS Television Distribution, said in a statement. “'Wheel' and 'Jeopardy!' continue to hit prime-time size ratings every night and truly prove the power that syndicated programming brings to a station’s lineup."

“Our ABC-owned stations have been the local destinations for 'Wheel Of Fortune' and 'Jeopardy!' for nearly 30 years,” Rebecca Campbell, president of the ABC Owned Television Stations Group, said in a statement. "Both shows are strong perennial performers and we are thrilled to continue to offer them to our viewers and advertisers."

Trebek hinted at retirement in May. “Yes, I have been thinking of retiring," Trebek told Chris Wallace. "But I’m torn because I enjoy doing the show so much. A lot of people have been telling me -- 'Alex, you’ve got to go for at least 30. You've just done 28. Now at least do two more.' So that has a nice ring to it. Put in your 30. And go help people."

Well, he'll go at least until 32 now.



Fall TV: Fresh Faces