Laverne Cox To Recieve Stephen F. Kolzak Award At GLAAD Media Awards

Transgender activist and actress Laverne Cox is slated to be honored at this year's 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards with one of the event's top honors: the Stephen F. Kolzak award.

The award is presented annually to a media professional in the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community who has made significant strides in the effort to promote equality. Previous individuals to receive the award include Wanda Sykes, Rufus Wainwright, Melissa Etheridge, Bill Condon, Todd Haynes, Alan Ball, Ellen DeGeneres and Sir Ian McKellen.

GLAAD also announced that recently out actress Ellen Page will present Cox with her award.

"Laverne Cox has reshaped the way Americans see transgender people and raised the bar in diverse representations of the LGBT community in entertainment," GLAAD President and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis said in a statement to The Huffington Post. "She is not only a talented actress, but a truly transformational leader in the LGBT equality movement. Through her tireless commitment to building understanding and acceptance through education and advocacy, Laverne is moving equality forward both on and off the screen."

GLAAD previously announced that Jennifer Lopez is slated to receive the Vanguard Award at the GLAAD Media Awards. The awards themselves will take place on April 12 in Los Angeles. Head here for more information.



48 Transgender Pioneers