Honoring This Year's Journalism Pulitzer Prize Winners

Every April the Pulitzer Prize Board meets to determine the recipients of the journalism industry's most prestigious award, the Pulitzer Prize. The field is divided into fourteen categories, recognizing outstanding reporting in feature writing, public service, commentary, criticism, feature and breaking news photography, editorial writing and cartooning and breaking news, investigative, explanatory, local, national and international reporting.

We're proud to work with the majority of the journalism recipients. At NewsCred, we work with over 2,500 world-class publishers, fueling millions of dollars of new revenue into the journalism ecosystem through content marketing. Our mission has always been to support the creation of quality journalism, and we're glad to know we're on the right path. We take pride in the caliber of our 2,500+ sources and publishers, and celebrate their tenacity and persistence when it comes to getting the real story.

The New York Times took home a total of four category wins in feature writing and investigative, international and explanatory reporting. John Branch was recognized for his exceptional feature work on the paper's first-ever large-scale multimedia project, Snowfall, providing an in-depth look at the avalanche at Tunnel Creek in California. Reporters David Barstow and Alejandra Xanic von Bertrab were recognized for investigative reporting, for their work on Walmart's market domination in Mexico. David Barboza won for international reporting for his work on the secret wealth of China's former premiere Wen Jiabo, and the entire Times staff was recognized for their collective explanatory reporting.

Florida's Sun Sentinel was recognized for outstanding work in public service, for the paper's three-month investigation of reckless off-duty police officers that have endangered the lives of local citizens entitled "Above the Law."

Phillip Kennicott of the Washington Post received the Pulitzer for criticism. Kennicott is the art and architecture critic of the paper, and was recognized for a critique of a photographic exhibit at the Corcoran Gallery, an article on architecture at the National Building Museum and an essay on vivid and graphic photography, to name a few.

Tim Nickens and Daniel Ruth of the Tampa Bay Times in St. Petersburg, FL, were awarded for their editorial writing. Both reporters were instrumental in compelling Florida's Pinellas County to resume placing fluoride in drinking water. The reporting aided the reversal of a 2011 decision to repeal the fluoridation of water.

Rodrigo Abd, Manu Brabo, Narciso Contreras, Khalil Hamra and Muhammed Muheisen, all of the Associated Press, were recognized for their exceptional breaking news photography.

The year's only freelance contributor to be recognized also happened to come from the only internationally based publication in the ranks, the Agence France-Presse. Javier Manzano was recognized in the category of feature photography for his photograph of two Syrian rebels on guard in the city of Aleppo.