National Book Award 2010 Winners Announced

National Book Award Winners Announced

The National Book Award winners were revealed last night at the 61st National Book Awards Benefit Dinner and Ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. Pat Conroy announced the National Book Award finalists on October 13, which included a previous National Book Award Winner, two previous Finalists, thirteen women -- the largest number of women Finalists in a single year in the Awards' history -- and six books from small, independent presses.

Here are the winners:

Fiction: "Lord of Misrule," by Jaimy Gordon
Nonfiction: "Just Kids," by Patti Smith
Poetry: "Lighthead," by Terrance Hayes
Young people's literature: "Mockingbird," by Kathryn Erskine
Lifetime achievement award: Tom Wolfe

Do you think the right books were chosen?

See a slide show of all the finalists:

Peter Carey's "Parrot and Olivier in America"

NAtional Book Award

Go To Homepage

Popular in the Community