[NOTE:] This feature will be available to all Facebook users. A previous version of this post incorrectly stated that Facebook's "Share" button applies only to Facebook "Groups." We regret the confusion.
Facebook is preparing to launch a new feature that will let users more selectively share content with preferred Facebook contacts.
The social network on Monday announced a new "Send" button that allows users to share directly with individuals and select friends via Messages, email or within "Groups" of friends.
The Send button will appear next to the "Like" button on websites that feature Facebook integration. While content you "Like" is visible to all your Facebook friends, the Send button will offers a more private alternative.
Here's how it works.
When a user clicks "Send," a small window appears that lets the user choose which friends or "Groups" of friends to send the content to. (Facebook Groups is a feature that lets users communicate within a limited set of Facebook friends, such as family members, bowling buddies, or roommates.) The user can send a link, along with a personalized message, without ever leaving the page where they found the content they'd like to share. This feature will replace Facebook's "Email to a friend" option.
For example, if you're planning a vacation with your roommates and you come across a great Hotel deal on Orbitz, you can "Send" a link to that deal directly to your Group of roommates via the Send button.
Check out an screenshot for the Send button (below) , and share your thoughts about this new feature in our Quick Poll.