New Hampshire Elects First All-Women Delegation

New Hampshire made history on Tuesday, electing the first-ever all-women delegation.

Joining New Hampshire Senate incumbents Jeanne Shaheen (D) and Kelly Ayotte (R) are three newly elected women: Gov. Maggie Hassan (D), who will be the only female Democratic governor in 2013, and Reps. Carol Shea-Porter (D) and Ann McLane Kuster (D).

CNN's exit polls for the state showed a significant 20-point gender gap that favored Obama and likely contributed to the Democratic candidates' wins.

EMILY's List, a progressive group that is dedicated to electing pro-choice women, celebrated its three victories and the milestone on Tuesday.

“EMILY’s List is so proud of New Hampshire tonight,” said the group's president, Stephanie Schriock. “I was just in New Hampshire last week campaigning with Sen. Jeanne Shaheen and our fantastic 2012 candidates – and the energy was incredible. Carol, Annie, and Maggie are exactly the kinds of leaders New Hampshire women and families need to push back against the Republican war on women and build a more progressive America.”

The U.S. Senate also broke a gender-related record on Tuesday. The 113th Congress will have at least 19 female senators, the most ever in U.S. history.



Election Night Celebrations