Part of the Cosmos : Slow Knights' Exclusive "Shame"

Photo courtesy of Derek Gruen


As guitarist of world-renowned electropop band Scissor Sisters, Derek Gruen (aka "Del Marquis") never truly let his voice be heard. But now with the Sisters on indefinite hiatus, Gruen has stepped up the spotlight with his new album Cosmos under the band moniker Slow Knights. Capturing the smoothness of his soul and R&B influences, while also injecting enough grit, spark and personality to prevent Cosmos from being a simple homage to his musical loves, he's assembled some of the freshest voices in underground pop today including Rod Thomas (of the UK's Bright Light Bright Light), Xavier (of Harlem Boys Choir) and Mykal Kilgore (of the traveling Book of Mormon) for this project. With Prince's New Power Generation as his backing band, Slow Knights was complete. The first single, "Shame," which is exclusively premiering here worldwide, is a perfect example of how all these different voices meshed together effortlessly. With vocals provided by Kilgore, "Shame" is a funk-based jam that proves that this Scissor Sister has got plenty of soul.