The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Honors Our Literary Giants

The 4th Annual Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Awards Ceremony will take place on December 7th, 2013 at Ganz Hall with partnering Roosevelt University. I have been to the previous ceremonies and am always grateful that the CLHOF exists, pointing out and highlighting Chicago's rich and diverse literary history and not allowing the names and legacies of our great writers to drift anonymously into the past. Every year, six critical writers who hailed from Chicago at least during some point in their careers are heralded posthumously for the important works that left their mark on future generations of writers and artists.

This year will be no exception as publishing powerhouse John H. Johnson (January 19, 1918 - August 8, 2005), children's author L. Frank Baum (May 15, 1856 - May 6, 1919), prolific and impactful novelist Edna Ferber (Aug. 15, 1885-April 16, 1968), lyrical fiction writer Leon Forrest (Jan. 8, 1937-Nov. 6, 1997), newspaper man Ben Hecht (Feb. 28, 1894-April 18, 1964) and Pulitzer Prize winner for both drama and fiction Thornton Wilder (April 17, 1897-Dec. 7, 1975) will all be recognized as inductees into the Literary Hall of Fame with both awards and celebratory performances. Some of Chicago's current greats will be performing: singing Diva Lynne Jordan, Chicago Fire TV star David Eigenberg, powerful artist "Marco the Poet," and Strawdog Theatre to name a few. Important contemporary writers such as Rosellen Brown, Joe Meno and Blue Balliett, with artist Richard Hunt and other guests, will also be a part of the celebration, presenting an overview of the inductees' work.

Executive Director and Founder of the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame, Donald Evans, had this to say of this year's ceremony. "We celebrate the happy collision between Chicago and these authors, and remind ourselves that the past, present and future share bonds that should not be diminished. L. Frank Baum, Edna Ferber, Leon Forrest, Ben Hecht, John H. Johnson and Thornton Wilder might seem, on the surface, to be disconnected, but in their differences lies the heartbeat of our collective greatness."

As the saying goes, "you can't know where you are going, if you don't know where you've been." On December 7th, The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame inducts six great writers. In remembering their works we shine a light on our great city and its writers for the future through ceremony and celebration. Join us! Tickets are free, but need to be reserved here.