The Republican Presidential Recession Record

Eisenhower: 2 recessions; Nixon and Ford: 2 recessions; Reagan: 1 recession; George H.W. Bush: 1 recession; George W. Bush: 2 recessions; Democrats: 1 recession. Eight to one, you decide.
This post was published on the now-closed HuffPost Contributor platform. Contributors control their own work and posted freely to our site. If you need to flag this entry as abusive, send us an email.

Here's the count. You decide.

Dwight Eisenhower: 2 recessions
Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford: 2 recessions
Ronald Reagan: 1 recession
George H.W. Bush: 1 recession
George W. Bush: 2 recessions

Here are the Democrats:

John Kennedy and Lyndon Johnson: no recessions
Jimmy Carter: one recession, the briefest of the era
Bill Clinton: no recessions

Eight to one: As I say, you decide.

Before You Go

Popular in the Community