'Wonder Woman' Will Hit Theaters In 2017

Warner Bros. has updated its release calendar with a handful of fresh franchise installments, including that of the hotly anticipated Wonder Woman film.

"Wonder Woman" will soar into theaters in 2017, as will Zack Snyder's "Justice League," in which Ben Affleck and Henry Cavill will reprise their respective "Batman V Superman" roles. Gal Gadot will portray the Amazonian warrior princess in both movies.

Warner Bros. also announced slots for several other comic-book updates: "Aquaman" (starring Jason Momoa) and "The Flash" (starring Ezra Miller) will open in 2018, while "Shazam" (starring Dwayne Johnson) and "Justice League 2" are set for 2019.

The possibility of a standalone Wonder Woman movie has been percolating for quite some time. It revved up following the news that she'd appear in "Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice," and on Monday it was revealed that the new movies will use her demigod origin story, making her the daughter of Zeus.

Here's the full list of Warner Bros.' DC Comics adaptations:
"Batman v Superman: Dawn Of Justice" - March 25, 2016
"Suicide Squad" - August 5, 2016
"Lego Batman" - May 26, 2017
"Wonder Woman" - June 23, 2017
"Justice League: Part 1" - November 17, 2017
"The Flash" - March 23, 2018
"The Lego Movie 2" - May 28, 2018
"Aquaman" - July 27, 2018
"Shazam" - April 5, 2019
"Justice League: Part 2" - June 14, 2019
"Cyborg" - April 3, 2020
"Green Lantern" - June 19, 2020