Yoko Ono's 'Cheshire Cat Cry' Begins 'Take Me To The Land Of Hell' Unveil On Band's Website

Yoko Ono Has A Surprise For You

The Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band is releasing "Take Me to the Land of Hell" on Sept. 17, but fans will be pleased to hear that Yoko Ono will post one track on the album on the band's website each week, where it will remain until it is replaced by another on the following Monday.

"Cheshire Cat Cry," which features Lenny Kravitz, follows the previously teased single "Moonbeams" as the first track to debut as part of the great unveil. On the song, Ono sings, "We, the expendable people of the United States, hold these dreams to be self-destructive."

In an interview about the album and her continued efforts in activism and the arts, Ono told HuffPost Entertainment that she was delighted by the idea of debuting the songs in such a manner. "That wasn't my idea, someone here thought of it but I love that idea," the 80-year-old said. "I thought, 'Great, do it!' It's really great that you can do it that way because then people have the chance to think about the songs."

"Take Me to the Land of Hell" was produced by Ono, Sean Lennon and Yuka Honda and features Nels Cline, tUnEyArDs, Questlove and Andrew Wyatt alongside Plastic Ono Band collaborators Cornelius and Cibo Matto. Mike D, Adrock and Keigo Oyamada contributed remixes.

Ono's last studio album, "Between My Head and the Sky," debuted in 2009 to favorable reviews.

Be sure to check back to The Huffington Post come album release time, for much more from our wide-ranging discussion with Ono about John Lennon's passing, working with Kravitz and Sean Lennon, her anti-fracking efforts and when she first discovered her voice.

Before You Go

Popular in the Community