VMA's Song Of The Summer Celebrations To Include Robin Thicke, Miley Cyrus, One Direction

Big VMA Performers Announced

MTV is joining the song-of-the-summer celebration, announcing Tuesday that this year's Video Music Awards will feature a new category celebrating the best this summer had to offer. The nominees for the inaugural award are Miley Cyrus’ “We Can’t Stop,” Daft Punk and Pharrell's “Get Lucky," Calvin Harris and Ellie Goulding’s “I Need Your Love,” Selena Gomez’s “Come & Get It,” One Direction’s “Best Song Ever,” and Robin Thicke, T.I. and Pharrell's “Blurred Lines."

It was also announced that two of the category's nominees -- Thicke and Cyrus -- will join Lady Gaga, Katy Perry and Kanye West as performers, with One Direction also making an appearance at the awards.

Voting for Best Song of the Summer begins today via Twitter, Instagram and Vine, according to an MTV press release. Users can post the respective hashtag of their choice to cast a vote: #votemiley, #votedaftpunk, #voteselena, #voteonedirection, #votethicke, or #votecalvinandellie.

Neither of the most frequently nominated acts at this year's VMAs -- Justin Timberlake and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis -- made the shortlist for Best Song of the Summer. Cyrus' and Thicke's nominations bring their grand totals to four nods each, tying them with Bruno Mars for the second most nominations.

Other song-of-the-summer contenders not recognized among the new category include Icona Pop's "I Love It," Imagine Dragons' "Radioactive" and Mars' "Treasure."

November 10, 2010

Miley Cyrus' Transformation

Before You Go

Popular in the Community