South Carolina Senate Election Results: Lindsey Graham, Tim Scott Win 2014 Elections

In South Carolina, Republicans Lindsey Graham and Tim Scott were re-elected to the U.S. Senate on Tuesday, the Associated Press reports.

Graham, who defeated Democrat Brad Hutto, was first elected to the Senate in 2002. Scott was appointed to the Senate by South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley (R) in 2013, when Sen. Jim DeMint (R) resigned. At the time, he was only the fifth African American ever to hold a U.S. Senate seat. Scott defeated Democrat Joyce Dickerson in Tuesday's election, officially becoming the first black senator to be elected by popular vote in the South. With his victory, Scott will now finish out DeMint's term, which was set to end in 2016.

Below, more live updates on the 2014 midterm elections: